Bead soup 3rd reveal………My First bead soup!

This is my first bead soup and my first attempt at making bead necklaces. I have been learning to make focals and working with metal stampings. I have never actually strung beads on wire for a necklace. Okay, that is not exactly true. I taught my Cub Scout troop to add macaroni noodles on string, but that was 20 years ago!
I ended up creating and recreating the bead necklaces several times.
For the green focal, I attempted to recreate the stripes in the stone. I quickly eliminated white from the pattern as it became the dominate color. I used slightly softer yellow beads that really make the necklace pop in the evening.
The blue focal design started out with amazonite and white beads. Hmmm, way to formal and dare I say boring. I switched to a more southwestern style and it became a necklace that could go casual or workplace.
I have tried to show you day and evening pictures of the necklaces.
For the large brass bead, I used the bead focal as a bail for one of Bsue’s fun brass hearts. The back side is finished with clay.
So that is my story and I’m sticking to it.
Enjoy the blog hopping. I will race you to the finish!
You can head back to our lovely host Lori Anderson or stop by my partner’s site Norma Turvey. Thank you Lori what an amazing accomplishment !
http://www.PrettyThingsblog.com
My partner is Norma Turvey http://moonlitfantaseas.blogspot.com Let’s check out Norma’s site!

20130426-233703.jpg

20130426-233728.jpg

20130426-233738.jpg

20130427-075701.jpg

39 thoughts on “Bead soup 3rd reveal………My First bead soup!

  1. Laurie all three of your necklace designs are very pretty. Kudos for trying stringing. You did a great job of using your soup.
    P.S. I laughed for five minutes when I read that Jack pushes the other cats into the pool. Also your first eyes are great.

  2. I really like how you worked out what to pair with the green, yellow and white focal in the first necklace. Great designs! I can’t believe you haven’t beaded before!

  3. Your necklaces turned out GREAT! It fabulous that you got to hone your skills some. I wouldn’t have believed these were some of the first beaded necklaces you ever made. That’s awesome. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

